The eggs in my basket.

From previous posts you may have noticed I have a lot of things I’m working on. I have a play in development. A screenplay I’m actively rewriting and submitting to every festival and contest under the sun. And a novel, that gets the writing energy I don’t know what to do with. Sadly, my blog has suffered, but that’s a good thing.

A ton of my energy is devoted to this screenplay that is very personal, and conversely very entertaining I hope, and not like anything I’ve ever seen, though that makes it hard to help people see. Hopefully a few choice results at various festivals and contests will help its traction and if nothing happens with it this calendar year, my intention is to produce it myself. “Not another Kickstarter!” you moan. Don’t worry, that’s quite a ways off. And if I still owe you cookies– I apologize and have faith!

The other piece of my creative life is for my play, “Secondary” which is getting a new title. AND a read with the Director’s Co. again on May 17th. I’m still convinced the commercial potential of the piece is huge and the timeliness of homosexuality in sports and the culture of violence that infects my beloved sport of football will help people realize that the piece could really succeed Off-Broadway and even Broadway. But the goal is to improve the script. Sharpening and sharpening until it cuts all who experience it.

My novel, while 2/3 of the way done, is still not far enough along to talk about. It’s safe to say though, it’s a labor of love, and my expectations for it, when it’s done, are minimal. I needed to make an attempt at the form, and I see it as the first attempt at something I will try a few more times in my life time.

So there we are. Looking at taking some classes later this year and entertaining the idea of attending grad school, though my responsibilities to my family limit my options, I will remind my self that my will makes many things possible. And those of my friends who have been supportive, even if it’s only in spirit, I thank you.

~ by Kevin T. Morales on April 20, 2013.

2 Responses to “The eggs in my basket.”

  1. thanks for keeping me in your creative loop. I share your dreams and enthusiasm! keep it up!

  2. Reblogged this on Bella's Blog and commented:
    I think it’s great to keep submitting while you’re working on stuff, and every idea has a different form and format, so why not?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 526 other followers

